The Delegation to the Nordic Council

Nordic Council logo.

In 1946 the Danish, Swedish and Norwegian ministers of justice decided to appoint a committee to draw up proposals on co-operation in the future on legislation in the Nordic region. In 1952 the Nordic Council became a reality. Finland joined the council in 1955. The formation of the council made it possible for Nordic parliamentarians to play a larger role in the process of developing co-operation on legislation.

Today the council has 87 members, elected among the members of the national parliaments. The composition of the council reflects the relative representation of the political parties in the national parliaments.

The Nordic Council holds its main session in the autumn.

Each of the national delegations has its own secretariat in the national parliament. The autonomous territories - Greenland, the Faroe Islands and Åland - also have Nordic secretariats.


The International Department
0026 Oslo

Phone: +47 23 31 30 50 


See also

The Nordic Council website.