The Delegation to the Inter-Parliamentary Union

Inter-Parliamentary Union logo.

The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) was established in 1889 and is the only assembly for parliamentarians that has worldwide membership. More than one hundred and sixty national assemblies are members of the IPU, while eight regional parliamentary assemblies, including the European Parliament, are associate members.

The organization is a meeting place for parliamentary dialogue. It works to foster peace and cooperation, and to support the development of representative democracy across the globe. This is done by means of the exchange of experience and dissemination of information between parliaments, and by debates on important international issues. During meetings, the assembly adopts resolutions on different topics. Human rights issues lie at the heart of the IPU’s work, while in recent years great focus has been placed on development and climate challenges.


The International Department is responsible for secretariat duties for the Storting’s delegation to the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Telephone: +47 23 31 30 50

Choose to see:
Ingen medlemmer er registrert