Delegation to the Asia-Europe Parliamentary Partnership (ASEP)

On 18 June 2015 the Storting established a permanent delegation to the Asia-Europe Parliamentary Partnership (ASEP).

A parliamentary forum, ASEP is linked to the intergovernmental dialogue that has been established between Europe and Asia to consider political, economic and cultural issues (the so-called ASEM partnership).

ASEM was founded by the EU and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) along with China, Japan and Korea in 1996. Since that time collaboration has expanded considerably and now encompasses 52 partner countries. Norway, together with Switzerland and Bangladesh, was granted membership in 2012. As a direct consequence, the Storting was invited to participate in ASEP, which comprises national parliamentarians from all of the ASEM nations and from the European Parliament.

The Storting formally became a member of ASEP at the 8th Asia-Europe Parliamentary Partnership (ASEP8) meeting in Rome in October 2014.

ASEP membership is an important contributory factor to creating a solid platform for parliamentary contact with Asian countries and for observing developments in Asia. Of particular significance here is the economic development in Asia and the growing influence it is expected to exert in global forums. The entire region is increasingly important to Norway, both in trade and foreign policy terms. One example of this is the various free trade negotiations that are currently taking place between EFTA and the ASEAN countries.

Europe and Asia take it in turns to host the ASEP meetings every other year.
The delegation consists of three members and three substitute members (details further down the page).

Contact details

The International Department is responsible for secretariat duties for the Storting’s Delegation to the Asia-Europe Parliamentary Partnership.


See also

About Asia-Europe cooperation (the Asia-Europe Meeting or ASEM)

Choose to see:
Committee members
Role Name Political Party
Head of Delegation Agdestein, Elin Rodum Conservative Party
Deputy Head of Delegation Njåstad, Helge André Progress Party
Member Solberg, Torstein Tvedt Labour Party
Substitute member Lyngedal, Åsunn Labour Party
Substitute member Sem-Jacobsen, Åslaug Centre Party
Substitute member Trellevik, Ove Conservative Party