Go to main menu
Go to search
Go to left menu
Go to main contents
Go to bottom
Hold down Ctrl and + to make font size bigger or Ctrl and – to make it smaller.
Use the Cmd key if you have a Mac.
Print Print    Report error Report error      

The Presidium

The Presidium is composed of six members and chaired by the President of the Storting.

Additional members of the Presidium are the five vice-presidents of the Storting. According to current practice, political parties are represented proportionately in the Storting's Presidium.  


The Presidium's responsibilities include:

  • determining the Storting's order of business,
  • establishing the time limits for the working schedule,
  • ensuring that constitutional rules are upheld in all matters, including during committee meetings,
  • ascertaining that issues are dealt with in accordance with constitutional rules,
  • safeguarding constitutional principles regulating the relationship between the Government and the national assembly.

As far as possible, the Storting's Presidium attempts to avoid taking a stand on purely political issues upon which there are divergent opinions. When such a situation arises, the Presidium generally consults the parties' parliamentary leaders.


Stortingets presidentskap. Fra venstre: Ingjerd Schou (H), Kenneth Svendsen (FrP), Olemic Thommessen (H), Marit Nybakk (A), Svein Roald Hansen (A) og Line Henriette Hjemdal (KrF). Foto: Stortinget/Terje Heiestad

The Storting's Presidium. From the left: Ms Ingjerd Schou, Mr Kenneth Svendsen, Mr Olemic Thommessen, Ms Marit Nybakk, Mr Svein Roald Hansen and Ms Line Henriette Hjemdal. © Stortinget/Terje Heiestad


The current President and Presidium

The presidium of the Storting consists of the following members:

  • President of the Storting: Mr Olemic Thommessen (The Conservative Party)
  • First Vice President of the Storting: Ms Marit Nybakk (The Labour Party)
  • Second Vice President of the Storting: Mr Kenneth Svendsen (The Progress Party)
  • Third Vice President of the Storting: Mr Svein Roald Hansen (The Labour Party)
  • Fourth Vice President of the Storting: Ms Ingjerd Schou (The Conservative Party)
  • Fifth Vice President of the Storting: Ms Line Henriette Hjemdal (The Christian Democratic Party)


Questions regarding the Presidium should be directed to Ms Ida Børresen, Secretary General of the Storting and Secretary to the Presidium.

Telephone: +47 23 31 35 27

The Storting's Administration
N-0026 Oslo
Tel. + 47 23 31 30 50

The Storting's
Information Service
Tel. +47 23 31 33 33


Editor-in-chief: Eli Pauline Fiskvik
Web Editor: Lars Henie Barstad