Changes to the Storting’s Presidium

On Thursday 25th November, the Storting elected Masud Gharahkhani (Labour Party) as the new President of the Storting. Kari Henriksen (Labour Party) has been elected as Fourth Vice President.

Eva Kristin Hansen and Sverre Myrli (both Labour Party) are stepping down from the Presidium.

The Presidium of the Storting now consists of the following members:

  • President of the Storting: Mr Masud Gharahkhani (Labour Party)
  • First Vice President of the Storting: Mr Svein Harberg (Conservative Party
  • Second Vice President of the Storting: Mr Nils T. Bjørke(Centre Party)
  • Third Vice President of the Storting: Mr Morten Wold(Progress Party)
  • Fourth Vice President of the Storting: Ms Kari Henriksen (Labour Party)
  • Fifth Vice President of the Storting: Ms Ingrid Fiskaa (Socialist Left Party)

About the Presidium

The Presidium is composed of six members and chaired by the President of the Storting.

Additional members of the Presidium are the five vice presidents of the Storting. According to current practice, political parties are represented proportionately in the Storting's Presidium.  

The Presidium's responsibilities include:

  • determining the Storting's order of business,
  • establishing the time limits for the working schedule,
  • ensuring that constitutional rules are upheld in all matters, including during committee meetings,
  • ascertaining that issues are dealt with in accordance with constitutional rules,
  • safeguarding constitutional principles regulating the relationship between the Government and the national assembly.

As far as possible, the Storting's Presidium attempts to avoid taking a stand on purely political issues upon which there are divergent opinions. When such a situation arises, the Presidium generally consults the parties' parliamentary leaders.

Last updated: 25.11.2021 12:16